State Governors Declare States of of Emergency for Hurricane Hilary


The governors of California and Nevada declared states of emergency in response to Tropical Storm Hilary.

The California declaration applies to Fresno, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, Tulare, and Ventura counties.

The Nevada declaration applies to the entire state.

These declarations trigger the temporary suspension of certain Federal safety regulations, including Hours of Service, for motor carriers and drivers engaged in specific aspects of the emergency relief effort. Relief from Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) regulations is limited to a maximum of 30 days, unless extended by FMCSA. 

Subscribe to Updates

NATSO provides a breadth of information created to strengthen travel plazas’ ability to meet the needs of the travelling public in an age of disruption. This includes knowledge filled blog posts, articles and publications. If you would like to receive a digest of blog post and articles directly in your inbox, please provide your name, email and the frequency of the updates you want to receive the email digest.