Bill Moon Scholarship


2017 Applications
The NATSO Foundation will soon be accepting applications for the 2017 Bill Moon Scholarship. The deadline will be May 15, 2017.

A travel plaza/truckstop industry employee or the legal dependent of an employee are eligible. 

Five $5,000 scholarships will be awarded this year. 

For additional information, contact Christine Schoessler at

2016 Winners
The NATSO Foundation is pleased to announce that it has awarded $25,000 in scholarships to deserving students with ties to the truckstop and travel plaza industry to put toward higher education in 2016. Five students each were awarded $5,000 under the Bill Moon Scholarship, which helps truckstop and travel plaza owners and operators, their employees and their families further their education.

The winners of the NATSO Foundation’s 2016 Bill Moon Scholarship were:

Kelly Bolton. Bolton is an employee at Muralt’s Ambest Travel Plaza in Missoula, Montana. She is studying within the forestry program at Salish Kootenai College.

Carianne Jones. Jones is an employee at TravelCenters of America #241. Jones is attending Purdue University Northwest as a first-year graduate student and is pursuing her Masters of Accountancy degree as well as a graduate certificate in forensic accounting and fraud investigation. 

Daryll Marie Carlson. Carlson is a previous recipient of the Bill Moon Scholarship and is entering her senior year studying marine biology at Stanford University in Stanford, California. Her father, Daryll Carlson, is the maintenance manager at the Sacramento 49er Travel Plaza in Sacramento, California.

Leianna McIntire. McIntire is an employee at TravelCenters of America #022. She is attending the University of Saint Joseph in West Hartford, Connecticut.

Rebecca Sistad is an employee at the Coffee Cup Travel Plaza, Vermillion. Sistad is in her first year of the clinical psychology doctoral program at the University of South Dakota.

The Bill Moon Scholarship is the NATSO Foundation’s longest running program. You can make a secure on-line donation today to the Bill Moon Scholarship program. 

About the Bill Moon Scholarship
For nearly 20 years the Bill Moon Scholarship Program has been changing lives. The scholarship provides much needed and deserved assistance to industry students planning for their post-secondary education and has awarded over $250,000 in scholarships. Each year since 1993 The NATSO Foundation has awarded scholarships of $2,500 each to selected industry employees and their children to help offset the cost of a college education. In 2013, the NATSO Foundation Board of Directors elected to raise the amount of the scholarship to $5,000. The origins of the Bill Moon Scholarship Program can be traced to 1989, when the Mason-Dixon Truck Stop Operators Association made a $5,000 contribution for use in establishing an industry scholarship program. In 1993, the Northeast Truckstop Operators Association made a $5000 contribution and Carolyn Moon added an additional $10,000. The NATSO Foundation began awarding scholarships to industry employees and their families in 1993.

Bill Moon made substantial contributions to NATSO, actively supporting and participating in industry-related government affairs issues, serving as Chairman of NATSO in 1989, and becoming the first Chairman of The NATSO Foundation in 1990.

Education was always a Moon family priority. Bill and his wife, Carolyn, both graduated from Southwest Missouri State University, and all three of their children received degrees from The University of Iowa.

Moon lost his battle with cancer in 1992, but left a legacy that is carried on today by Carolyn and the Moon children. Fittingly, the scholarship program was named in his memory.

Each spring the NATSO Foundation releases the scholarship application and applicants are judged by a independent review with selections based on academic merit, financial need, community activities and a short essay.