Tom Heinz, Co-Founder of Coffee Cup Fuel Stops, Receives NATSO Hall of Fame

Monday, January 23, 2017


The NATSO Foundation presented Tom Heinz, co-founder and president of Coffee Cup Fuel Stops, the Hall of Fame award at The NATSO Show 2017 in Savannah, Ga. NATSO President and Chief Executive Officer Lisa Mullings presented the award to Heinz during the keynote lunch today.

The Hall of Fame Award recognizes individuals for notable participation in their communities, the truckstop and travel plaza industry and in NATSO. NATSO members nominate candidates for the award, and NATSO’s executive committee and past Hall of Fame recipients select the winner.

Coffee Cup’s first location opened in Steele, N.D., in 1981. Today, it operates nine locations in South Dakota, North Dakota and Wyoming.

“Tom Heinz has demonstrated his desire to help others in our industry but also his service to community. He is a true example of a strategic, compassionate leader,” said Don Quinn, President of Sapp Bros. Travel Centers and NATSO's 2017 Chairman of the Board.

Not only has Heinz built a successful business and supported the communities in which he operates, he has given back to the industry. Heinz has been a strong supporter of NATSO, serving on the board of directors and as chairman of both NATSO and the NATSO Foundation. He also has been active in the South Dakota Petroleum Association and serves on the board of The St. Christopher Fund, which supports professional drivers in need.

“The Hall of Fame award is meant to recognize members who serve as a source of pride for the travel plaza and truckstop industry, and Tom most certainly does,” said Mullings. “Our industry, NATSO’s members, and so many more have benefited from Tom’s generous wisdom and guidance. He truly embodies all that the Hall of Fame Award stands for and I am honored to present him with it.”

Photo credit: Brittany Palmer/NATSO

Media Contact:
Tiffany Wlazlowski Neuman
Vice President, Public Affairs
Phone: (703) 739-8578