The NATSO Foundation Awards $25,000 in Scholarships for Education

Thursday, November 9, 2017

The NATSO Foundation is proud to announce that it has awarded $25,000 in scholarships through the Bill Moon Scholarship program to further the education of five students with ties to the truckstop and travel plaza industry.

“The NATSO Foundation is pleased to honor the recipients of these scholarships for their pursuit of education and their commitment to the truckstop and travel plaza industry,” said NATSO Foundation President Lisa Mullings. “This scholarship program plays a key role in advancing the educational goals of the NATSO Foundation by helping to drive the future success of our industry. We wish each of these scholarship winners academic excellence.”

Open to truckstop and travel plaza owners and operators, their employees and their families, the Bill Moon Scholarship program was established in 1993 to help advance the education of industry participants.

The winners of the NATSO Foundation’s 2017 Bill Moon Scholarship each received $5,000. Winners are:

  • Seth Drey, Love's Travel Stop #490 in Jasper, Tennessee
  • Stefani Duncan, Hood's Service Center, Bois D'Arc, Missouri
  • Austin Rofe, TravelCenters of America, Westlake, Ohio
  • Susan Ridenour, Sacramento 49er Truck Plaza, Sacramento, California
  • Katarina Schubert, Truck World, Hubbard, Ohio

The scholarships provide assistance to those who are planning for their post-secondary education. The program has awarded more than $300,000 in scholarships since 1993. In 2013, the NATSO Foundation Board increased the scholarship amount to $5,000 per student from $2,500.

The scholarship is named after Bill Moon, who founded the Iowa 80 Group and made substantial contributions to NATSO, actively supporting and participating in industry-related government affairs issues. He served as chairman of NATSO in 1989 and as the first chairman of the NATSO Foundation in 1990.

The NATSO Foundation will release the 2018 scholarship application soon. Applicants are judged by an independent review with selections based on academic merit, financial need, community activities and a short essay.

Media Contact:
Tiffany Wlazlowski Neuman
Vice President, Public Affairs
Phone: (703) 739-8578